Basel, no Basle, Swiss ! Oh SWISS!

From New York to Basel, again we had some research to do but I’d rather not tell dull stories but show some pictures AFTER work!

On a bridge over the Rhine
On a bridge over the Rhine

To brighten up this page I add some scans of postcards and other material I brought with me:

Statue of Lucius Munatius Plancus
Statue of Lucius Munatius Plancus “Gruender der Colonia Raurica”, the guy who started to build Basle
Basel Schifflaende
Basel Schifflaende, where the ships anchor on the Rhine river
Lucerne city centre
Lucerne city center
The "Vierwaldstaetter See"
The lake and Lucerne (lower right side)

We went up (of course by car) until the building on the mountain.

Mount Pilate
Mount Pilate, one of the highest mountains of the Alps.
As high as the Alp top
On the top of Mt. Pilate!
Visit to a castle on the Rhine
In a beautiful garden of one of the many castles on the Rhine

That’s all folks …….

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi, Lani.

    Your pics in Basel remain me of years in 70’s when I was in Basel with CIBA-GEIGY.

    Thanks for loading Basel’s pics.

    Kind regards,

    Juliuskawilarang@yahoo.com

  2. laniratulangi says:

    Good Morning, Bung Julius,
    Because I had my basic training in Chemistry in Aachen (Germany) I have made one of my industrial practices (3 weeks) in Ciba Geigy, Basle. I was interested in synthetic fibers then.
    Later when I became head of the technical laboratory for petrochemicals in Jakarta I visited that company again to discuss certain aspects of polymer stabilization. The pictures date from that period.
    Thanks for having visited my site.
    Lani

Leave a Reply

