JAKARTA, city of the thousand malls (1)

JAKARTA, kota beribu-ribu mal (Terjemahan menyusul dibawah)

Riding through Jakarta (whilst someone else drives) often brings me to a severe identity problem about WHAT I actually am….

Am I an urban fisherman’s wife or what ? Having to stay for weeks sometimes months in Manado (Ranowangko, Tanawangko Area) and then coming to Jakarta I often sit perplexed, maybe with an open mouth and looking left and right to whatever building I am just passing.

Yes, I was born and brought up in this city and with some brief  intermissions have grown up in this city. I have  worked, liked and hated this city, but now, I come neutrally as a retiree back here….. And I look at it with a very different composure….. maybe I would not have liked it at all (again) and would have left it as soon as possible, if it not is because of most of my children are living here (or better: ARE  HAVING TO LIVE HERE). And also my nieces and nephews who are mostly all around us here in Jakarta. That is one thing I have come to appreciate more and more (due to my aging process). Anyway… on March 8 I was invited by my niece Riri to attend a lunch at a Resto by the name of “RAJA KECIL” meaning Little King at the Pondok Indah Mall II But since I was a bit too early I thought I would like to have look at the Gramedia Bookshop at PI Mall I. Therefore I walked along the overpass and made some pictures.

Standing on the North overpass, looking North
Standing on the North overpass, looking North
Now looking south (1)
Now looking south (1)
Looking South (2) and see the Entrance of PI Mall II
Looking South (2) and see the Entrance of PI Mall II
Looking South (3) and behind the baliho's PI Mall III is being build
Looking South (3) and behind the baliho’s PI Mall III is being build

It seems that all of my grand kids really enjoy to go to the Bookshop of GRAMEDIA. Even when just to buy a pencil they like to hang out looking at the tables showing the many books . As I passed the section of  new publications  it appeared to me like there is an explosion of new titles in the Indonesian language. It is really a wonderful sight that people are now free to tell and write whatever they think is worth writing about. That is part of the virtues that our independence has brought to us, and also that our current leadership is very tolerant in the hope that the readers will sooner or later determine for themselves what is worth reading.  Since my direct need is to find something that can assist me in making myself more of use to the family and that is looking for a SIMPLE cookbook. This I found indeed but while walking to the cashier I saw a book by Kishore Mahbubani.  I have been looking for it since February 2011 (the original English Edition) but it was sold out everywhere, and now I could buy the Indonesian version, which is for me more economical of course. Below I show a picture of my latest treasures.

My latest treasures
My latest treasures

In the meantime it was getting late, but, time enough to rush to the LITTLE KING Resto, where apparently my sister and two of her daughters were already seated in a nice corner.  My sister welcomed me with a big smile and asking : “Are you also invited ?” This question did not bother me at the time since I was too happy to meet them all. It was the xxth celebration of the wedding of two of my nieces Pingkan and Wido who at that time were having their wedding simultaneously…. Sitting cosily on a table for four it happened that later three more tables had to be added. below you will see the pictures of the “Feeding of the hungry RAT’s” (RAT’s meaning Ratulangi family members).

Riri and Pipiet
Riri and Pipiet
From right around the table: Lani, Pingkan,
From right around the table: Lani, Pingkan, Nefi, Dian, Rezki, Uki, Shirra, Wido, Omar, Ida, Sara, Pipiet
A better view of the lovely Sara
A better view of the lovely Sheila, Ida and Omar.

That was all, folks! Thanks for your attention.

NEXT

JAKARTA, city of the thousand malls (2)

“Observing the NEW Indonesian Middle Class” 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

